The Governments of the Republic of Zambia and Zimbabwe are pleased to announce the launch of the Kavango Zambezi Trans-frontier Conservation Area (KAZA) UNIVISA on 28th November, 2014. The UNIVISA became effective on the launch date.

What is UNIVISA?

 The KAZA UNIVISA is a common tourist visa for the SADC region which shall be piloted by Zambia and Zimbabwe for six (6) months.  After the pilot period, the UNIVISA is intended to be rolled out to three (3) other countries in the KAZA region – namely Angola, Botswana and Namibia.  More countries in the SADC region are expected to join in the UNIVISA initiative at the later phase.

Zambia and Zimbabwe were selected to pilot the KAZA UNIVISA following the successful co-hosting of the 20th Session of the UNWTO General Assembly which facilitated seamless border crossing of delegates between the two countries.

Eligible Borders

The UNIVISA will be effective immediately after the launch on 28th November, 2014 and will be administered at eight (8) ports of entry as follows:

Zambia:                                                                                Zimbabwe:

KK International Airport                                                    Harare International Airport

Harry Mwaanga International Airport                           Victoria Falls international Airport

Victoria Falls Border                                                             Victoria Falls Border

Kazungula Border                                                                  Kazungula Border


The UNIVISA will be issued at a standard fee of US$50.


The KAZA UNIVISA will be valid for 30 days as long as you remain in Zambia and Zimbabwe. It also covers those who visit Botswana for day trips through the Kazungula Borders.

Eligible Countries

Citizens from 40 countries listed below shall be eligible for the KAZA UNIVISA obtainable at the eight (8) ports of entry stated above.

  1. Argentina
  2. Austria
  3. Australia
  4. Belgium
  5. Brazil
  6. Britain (UK)
  7. Brunei
  8. Burundi
  9. Canada
  10. Cook Islands
  11. Czech Republic
  12. Denmark
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. Germany
  16. Greece
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Israel
  20. Italy
  21. Japan
  22. Liechtenstein
  23. Luxembourg
  24. Monaco
  25. Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway
  28. Poland
  29. Portugal
  30. Puerto Rico
  31. Russia
  32. Rwanda
  33. Slovakia Republic
  34. Slovenia Republic
  35. Spain
  36. Sweden
  37. Switzerland
  38. UAE
  39. Uruguay
  40. USA

Dedicated Counters

Each of the eight ports of entry stated above, will have a dedicated counter where the special visa will be processed using the KAZA UNIVISA enabled equipment.


Eligible tourists will save time and money because they will only need to obtain one visa to visit both countries.

Further Details

For further details and enquiries, please visit www.kazavisa.info or email Zambia Tourism Board info@zambiatourism.org.zm/Zimbabwe Tourism Authority info@ztazim.co.zw

Play Your Part!

Please notify your clients, citizens of eligible countries, to start saving time and money now.

Issued by:

The Joint Marketing Team (Zambia/Zimbabwe)

 22nd November, 2014