Zambia at a glance

Country name: Republic of Zambia

Capital: Lusaka (Altitude 1,277 meters above sea level)

Geographic coordinates: 15 25 S, 28 17 E

Area:     752,614(km2)

Population:   14.6 Million


Executive branch: Head of state – President Edgar Chagwa LUNGU (since 25th January, 2015); Vice-President Mrs. Inonge Wina (since 26th January, 2015). The president is both the head of state and head of government

Time: +2 hours of GMT

Administrative divisions: 10 provinces; Central, Copperbelt, Eastern, Luapula, Lusaka, Muchinga, Northern, North-Western, Southern and Western. These are administered by appointed deputy ministers.

Independence24th October 1964 (from the UK)

National holidayIndependence Day, 24th October (1964)

Constitution24th August 1991; amended in 1996 to establish presidential term limits

Legal system: mixed legal system of English common law and customary law

Suffrage18 years of age; universal

Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly (158 seats; 150 members are elected by popular vote, 8 members appointed by the president, to serve five-year terms)

Elections: last held on 20 September 2011 (next to be held in 2016)

Judicial branch: Supreme Court (the final court of appeal; justices are appointed by the president); High Court (has unlimited jurisdiction to hear civil and criminal cases)


Flag description: green field with a panel of three vertical bands of red (hoist side), black, and orange below a soaring orange eagle, on the outer edge of the flag; green stands for the country’s natural resources and vegetation, red symbolizes the struggle for freedom, black the people of Zambia, and orange the country’s mineral wealth; the eagle represents the people’s ability to rise above the nation’s problems.

National symbol: African fish eagle

Weather: Hottest month: October (18° C to 31° C); Coldest: July (9° C to 23° C); and Wettest: December (231 mm)

Climate: Tropical

Monetary unit: Kwacha

GDP (purchasing power parity): $25.47 Billion

GDP (official exchange rate): $22.24 Billion

GDP – real growth rate: 6.6%

GDP – per capita (PPP): $1,800.00

Inflation – Consumer prices: 6.5%

Exchange Rates: Visit

Languages: There are 73 local dialects which include Bemba, Nyanja, Tonga, Lozi, Chewa, Nsenga, Tumbuka, Lunda, Kaonde, Lala, Luvale, English (official).

Religions: 87% Christian, Islam and Hindu 1%, Baha’i 1.5%

Measures: Metric System

Electricity: 230 Volts A/C, 50 Hz.

Country International Dialing Code: 260

Shared Borders: Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia.

Traditional Exports: Primary agricultural products, Floriculture/Horticultural products, Gemstones, Timber, electricity, cement, and textiles

Major Economic Activities/ Investment Opportunities: Agriculture, energy, mining, construction, tourism, and manufacturing.

Major Export Destinations: Switzerland, Netherlands, China, South Africa, Egypt, Democratic Republic of Congo, UK and COMESA & SADC regions (Eastern and Southern African countries)

Major Import Sources: South Africa, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kuwait, China, European Union, India, United Arab Emirates, India and Japan.

Agriculture: corn, sorghum, rice, peanuts, sunflower seed, vegetables, flowers, tobacco, cotton, sugarcane, cassava (tapioca), coffee; cattle, goats, pigs, poultry, milk, eggs, hides.

Industries: copper mining and processing, construction, foodstuffs, beverages, chemicals, textiles, fertilizer, and horticulture.


Natural resources: copper, cobalt, zinc, lead, coal, emeralds, gold, silver, uranium, hydropower.

Major Tourist Attractions: Victoria Falls (one of the 7 natural wonders of the world); Kariba Dam  (the largest man-made lake); 19 National Parks and 34 game management areas as well as 23 million hectares devoted to the conservation of an amazing variety of wild animals and bird species. The country also holds a number of traditional ceremonies including the Kuomboka, Nc’wala, Likumbi Lyamize, Shimunenga, Mutomboko.